• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

What's in a name?

John in Cali

I'm currently on vacation, and as expected I am asked what I do for a living quite a bit. This is a question that has given me pause many times in the past.
I usually respond with "sign maker", which has resulted from "Oh" to "I see". I have used "graphic artist", but that just doesn't seem to accurately describe my career. I have toyed with the moniker of "sign artist", but I'm not sure that is accurate enough. My sign experience over the last 15 or so years is quite varied, and I just can't seem to think of a title that feels comfortable. How do you respond to "What do you do for a living?"

Gino

Premium Subscriber
You can say.......

I own a sign company..... a sign manufacturing company, we fabricate signs.... all kinds.

Full service sign manufacturing company is the one I use.

Marlene

I usually respond with "sign maker", which has resulted from "Oh" to "I see".

what kind of snotty people are you hanging with? I'd ask them what they did, and no matter what they said, I'd say "oh, I see"...but that's just me and I'm a smarta$$.

2B

depends on the situation,

advertising or graphic advertising tends to be the most accurate. especially since most "sign places" do more than just signs, business cards, t shirts, promotional items, vehicle graphics, etc...

SD&F

I say I own and run a Wholesale sign manufacturing company. They either ask what that means or they say "oh". I think the "oh" means they don't know where to start asking questions.

rjssigns

I say my title is Chief Technology Influencer. Which is true since I make all decisions concerning equipment, software, etc... I only use that on special occasions.

I "borrowed" the term from an acquaintance.

bob