• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Who knows how to fix "destroyed" print heads?

ibikestickers

Hey all,

I'm new to digital printing. In fact, I haven't really started. Been window tinting for 16+ years, and doing cut vinyl for 7 or 8.
I just bought a Mutoh Falcon II outdoor 64" on ebay and there are definite nozzle problems, as disclosed by the seller. I've been trying to do research while I wait for my printer to arrive from California so that I know what I'll need to get the machine going. There are the printhead doctor and the printhead911 products/services, but not much about them is discussed here on this forum.

Some people claim that just about any printhead can be recovered with the right chemicals and methods, and the above mentioned companies claim that their products are special and can do recoveries that you can't do without their stuff.
On the other hand, maybe the standard cleaning fluids that are made for regular printer maintenance are capable of doing anything needed.
Ok, so, any input? who here has recovered print heads that would've been considered destroyed? is it true that people save thousands of dollars fixing clogged printheads? Or, is clogged done?
Thanks for any help!

smdgrfx

Easier to replace and start with fresh heads. Cleaning them can be frustrating and time consuming. The last time I had a problem, I just replaced and was so much happier. Good luck!!

ibikestickers

Yes, that's why I'd like to be able to clean them! I paid 2500 for the printer so I think I can justify spending more money on it but I'm a DIYer and hate spending unnecessary money (of course, I'm not unique in that regard)