• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Why use Gerber Edge?

fine point

Hi Everyone.
I am a newbie when it comes to digital printing. I am still so very confused on differences between inkjet, dye-sub, thermal and all. I thought dye-sub was like Gerber edge and Summa DC4, then there is dye-sub inkjet???

Anyway.

I sub out most of printing jobs since they are not big/frequent enough for my business. Then one client told me that if we get Gerber Edge FX, we will get many orders from them to make it worthwhile.

I knew a little about Edge fx but quickly learned it's a good machine (Thanks Calvin from GMS!).

But my question is why use Edge Fx? To me, it's a small printer with a limited use. I don't know if it's worth dropping 14K. Does it do anything other printers can't? (beside the obvious, "you don't have to laminate" part)

Thanks!

FP

James Burke

Being a grandpa is more fun than working
I've been thinking about that also since we don't do any printing either. But here's my guess:

- The system is very versatile for small sized jobs - vinyl only or print and cut.
- Your cost of "entry" is relatively small compared to a larger scale printing setup.
- Media costs will also be relatively smaller. Onesies and twosies are perfect since you won't be wasting large amounts of media from a bigger system.

To me, the obvious drawbacks with a "thermo foil" based color system (as opposed to bulk ink) is having to carry a large inventory of color foils, the room they take up, and constant changeovers since only one color can occupy the machine at time.

Then one client told me that if we get Gerber Edge FX, we will get many orders from them to make it worthwhile.