• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Window Perf

divers2deep

My understanding is that window perf has a much shorter life span then cast printed vinyl with lam. When performing a vehicle wrap it should have a lifespan of 4 yrs and up without significant fading and/or issues. Are there specific window perf to stick with, should the perf be laminated to give it longevity... What should I look for to integrate the windows into the wrap design. Im seeing a lot of vehicles around town where the solid wrap section looks great, but the windows look very bad do to failing or old perf material... Any input for me to learn on this topic would be greatly appreciated.

I am a newb and do not claim otherwise, so please take it easy on me.

Thanks in advance.

Bigdawg

Just Me
We do a fair bit of window perf - not all with good success...

My personal advice - your mileage may vary - is to go with the clear focus perf films. We've tried several different "store" brands from our vendors and they don't last worth a darn. On some the white areas turned brown within a year.. on others the visibility wasn't as clear as it should be. When we switched to the clear focus, we noticed a significant difference in visibility (we generally laminate it with 3M 8518 - I know - not technically optically clear, but it works just fine).

The other thing I noticed is that Clear focus says the perf will last 2 years... and after seeing it in action, I believe it will. Everything else was rated 1 year (and it showed).

Fast 596