• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Would you panel this?

TheSnowman

This is 123" X 54". I'm installing it with 3M Cast Air Egress, would you panel it, or attempt it all as one piece? My gut is saying panel, but I've never done glass this big and solid before.

Attachments

• image-1395817245.jpg
    image-1395817245.jpg
    438.1 KB · Views: 86

VTSigns

Anytime I can get away without paneling, I do. I would definitely do this as one piece, especially since you are using easy to install material.

TheSnowman

What would you do? Just tape it up and remove the liner about 4-6" down and get the top set, then just peel the bottom off as you go? Just doesn't seem that simple being this big, but I guess it could be. I sometimes just need to do stuff like this and it's fine, but I normally stress out about it first.

TXFB.INS

we would tape it up and set it on one end, then use a big squeegee and your done.

if no big squeegee then setting the top edge and using gravity will be your friend

fmg

Center hinge top to bottom.Peel back release liner on one half,and squeegee .Repeat for the other side and smooth out using the squeegee.Job done!

a77

Hey dumb question, but now would you center hinge it?
Would you slice away a strip of the liner and put that on first? Is there a trick/tool to cut away a little strip of liner away that from the back cleanly?
I don't see how using tape top and bottom would secure it well enough, you'd be taping on the frame and that won't hold down nicely on the glass.

And another dumb question, if you had to do this with one installer, would the center hinge method even be possible? I'm thinking it would be possible with 1 person going top down, but still not easy.

TheSnowman