• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Writing a business plan

Tash

I've been selling signs on the side for a couple years now and looking to get more into it full time, I'm trying to write a business plan and would appreciate some direction to resources, and advice from people with some realistic projections, and average sales for the sign industry.

I've been in the sign business for over 12 years, and have done many different jobs from painting to design to sales to install, needing to get more familiar with the business end of it, and wanted to try to get off on the right foot, I'll still be working part time.

signage

Look into the SBA in your area. they usually offer service for free and can help you with some of the research.

Checkers

Good for you. It's a nice change of pace to hear that you're getting into this business and trying to start off on the right foot.
The one question I have to ask you is why do you want to write a plan?
The SBA website offers a wealth of information that will get you thinking, but it won't really do much good when it comes to the business end of the business. Only experience counts here because trying to find someone who is successful in this business and willing to share all their knowledge is a little challenging.
Anyway, the SBA links to www.Bplans.com for sample business plans. If you want to spend a few hundred bucks on their software, it may make writing the plan a little easier.
www.census.gov offers a couple of reports on the sign industry. Although it is somewhat dated, it will give you more general info. It can also provide you with economic and market conditions for your area.