• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Beginner question....I don't know anything

biznitch

I'm very new to this, and haven't ever even cut anything, I will explaine what I have and what I want to start doing.
I just bought a Summa D75 cutter and I will be running Illustrator and Winplot-(came with cutter)
I've never used illustrator or Corel draw before but have been using photoshop for quite some time

the cutter will be used to cut stripes for airplanes, but I need to get some basic skills first before... I figured out how to send text to the cutter. I got an image of a logo (KTM) which is very basic, how would I get that converted into something winplot can read?

any help is greatly appreciated
I know this is basic stuff, but I have to start somewhere

thanks in advance
Dany

PaulS

Hey Dany when I finished in the army (if that's possible?) end of 92 I was in the same boat.

I'm self-taught so just practice and experimentation is how I learned. No fancy internet to learn stuff with, just started doing small jobs till I got more proficient (four hungry kids are a great motivator heh heh).

Just practice, use your cheapest materials to experiment with.

Rhino

I think learning the difference between raster and vector images would be a good place to start.

signage

Another welcome to the forums from PA....

Illustrator creates Vectors Photoshop is raster, plotter needs vector shapes to follow! Practice best way to learn!

biznitch

How does one buy a machine that has NO clue how to use it?

if we learn to use it we don't have to sub out, so we make more profit? this is a hobby I've got lots of time to learn how to use it.

I understand the difference between raster and vector, I just need to figure out how to convert one to the other

Charlie J