• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Eps file printing high...not sure why

jdwilliams1

I have a 4x18 inch graphic I am trying to print and I have centered it to the art board and all looks centered and good. Then when I save it as eps and then try to print is from raster link on my large format mimaki flatbed printer it prints high on the sign so there is a small margin on the bottom of the print surface. Any thoughts on why this might be happening?

John Butto

Have you ever had this problem before or did it just occur. Is your Artboard, if you are designing in Illustrator, the same size as the piece you are printing on. Cannot you see it on your RIP as to where it will print.

jdwilliams1

Hi john....this is my first try. Was using Lexi master software. The aluminum blank is 4x18 inch and so is graphic according to illustrator. The preview in my rip software shows the image as good

Fred Weiss

Merchant Member
When this has happened to me in the past, it has always ended up being a spurious point outside of the image area. This will happen often when the type cursor is touched to the workspace and no text is entered. Try doing a marquee select without touching the image in the area where you are getting the extra margin.

jdwilliams1

Thanks guys but I still do not see anything

I have attached the image so you can see it...I have to move the blue graphic area down a bit along with the text just so it will print correctly on my sign

Attachments

• paper jpg crop.jpg
    paper jpg crop.jpg
    26 KB · Views: 88

bgraphics

I would check your origin on the flatbed... could it be off? Also, when something goes wrong with an .eps or .pdf, I turn it into a HQ jpeg... that solves all problems.

jfiscus

Rap Master