• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

3M™ MCS™ Warranty for Traffic Printer question

jdwilliams1

Hello, I am new to roll to roll as we only have 3 UV flatbed mimaki printers. We were printing onto reflective material on the flatbeds and as expected the life is shorter than we would like and I was just curious if someone could recommend a good latex printer that would qualify for the 3M™ MCS™ Warranty. I am not against the HP Latex 360/365 but we currently run mimaki and thought it would be nice to stay with the same brand. Maybe there is a comparable Mimaki machine to the HP Latex 365.

We would like this printer to be able to do more than just print on reflective so would love to hear your thoughts on versatility of the HP365 and/or a printer from Mimaki that is comparable.

Thanks
Jay

ikarasu

As christian said... you generally only have 2 choices. If you're not a 3M Certified shop and are willing to use Avery, it opens up more options. Or Oracal...

I'm hoping you're not doing official traffic signs with your flatbed. It's not just the Warranty you're voiding by using the mimaki... It doesn't meet MOT/DOT Whatever your traffic standard is by not using an approved process. It wont reflect as good...and if someone gets into an accident and find out, you could potentially be sued for providing a non regulatory sign (Likely wont happen, but not worth the risk)

Keep in mind if you buy a 365, You're forced to use Flexi traffic edition which you have to buy separately (Few thousand). It wont work with your current printers... so you'll be running 2 different rips. It hasnt been updated to the latest version of Flexi, and coming from onyx I find it garbage. We only use it for traffic and run the printer with onyx the rest of the time.