• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Application Fluid and Reflective Vinyl

hatmanok

Can you use application fluid with reflective vinyl. I have to layer it and using application fluid would make it a lot better to apply. Thanks

strypguy

I do it too....oops. Well, I use alittle johnsons baby shampoo and water. Never had a problem. I've been doing it that way for over 15 years. I also own a vehicle I put reflective on wet 5 years ago and it has had no issues.
Never used it to layer the stuff, though.

John

signmeup

I have, on very rare occasions, applied reflective dry. Mostly I apply it wet with Rapid Tac. I only apply it wet because I need to line it up with an outline that has already been applied to the vehicle and doing it wet makes it easy to see where it needs to go. (I try to never stick reflective directly to a vehicle...I always try to apply cast vinyl under it so It will be easy to remove down the road)

I've done about sixty 18 wheelers for a local company. All the reflective was applied wet. These things go from northern Newfoundland to sunny California. I can't imagine a harsher test than freezing cold salt spray to blazing sun and heat. Some of these go back 6 years and still look like they were just done.

I use something called KIWA from TCT Graphics in Toronto. It runs about 25 bucks a yard for 24".

You will now get a whole bunch of nonsense about mold and corrosion that happened once 10 years ago to someone.

Jillbeans

I do it dry when I can, as that's what is recommended by the manufacturer.
But most of the time I apply wet using Rapid Tac 2.
Love....Jill

gabagoo