• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help applying without bubbles

tamif

T-N-T Designs
I have been doing signs for 7 yrs now and I still have a lot of problems with air bubbles. Could it be the type of vinyl I am using? Lately I am using HP prime gloss vinyl. I do not laminate my prints because I do not have a laminator. Does lamination make a huge difference that keeps the bubbles out? I have this problem with big and small prints on all different substrates. I have tried both wet and dry mount. I'm at my wits end trying to figure this out. I feel like I am not giving my customers what they deserve.

ikarasu

Is this just for substrates? Buy a manual laminator for $150 and you'll lose 99% of your bubbles.

If you're hand applying with non air egress vinyl.... You'll likely always get bubbles. Look into a big squeegee or a manual laminator

ams

I have been doing signs for 7 yrs now and I still have a lot of problems with air bubbles. Could it be the type of vinyl I am using? Lately I am using HP prime gloss vinyl. I do not laminate my prints because I do not have a laminator. Does lamination make a huge difference that keeps the bubbles out? I have this problem with big and small prints on all different substrates. I have tried both wet and dry mount. I'm at my wits end trying to figure this out. I feel like I am not giving my customers what they deserve.

You need a laminator, don't sell unlaminated prints. Also use vinyls that have Rapid Air / Air Egress and you won't see a single bubble again.

Gino

Premium Subscriber
It's mostly all about technique........ and then practice, practice, practice.

Have you ever worked along side of someone who could do it without bubbles ?? If not, I would venture to say, you need to learn the correct way.