• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Are big names over rated ?

V-P

Hi everyone !

I am a newbie in this forum and a newbie in solvent/eco solvent technology.
I come from the dye/pigment world. A heavy user & specialized technician in canon lfp-s from years.

Well, lately my boss is thinking of jumping into the eco solvent world.

I have been looking around for manufacturers and I see great products from let's say Mutoh, Roland, Epson and others.

I also have been talking to some Chinese manufacturers like StarJet products.
Of course their pricing is 1/3 or 1/4 of the bigger guys.

Most of Chinese manufacturers claim that they use Epson printhead DX5.
Now I don't personally know the quality of the DX5 but if Epson made it, than it must be good. From my experience I know for sure that print head plays a big role in the quality of print. And since every one is using pretty much the same eco solvent ink, than are these Chinese printers worth the money ?

I guess there must be some hidden aspects that I am not able to see now, and I would like to avoid unpleasant surprises, but my boss is pushing me toward the Chinese manufacturers.

Can anyone who has tried both worlds give me some pointers ?

Thnx in advance !

i have no idea about the chinese printers but you need to think about warrenties, tech help etc. if your new chinese printer arrives and you need a tech to install or if you have a problem at some point how do they cover this?

V-P

well, I asked them and they offer one year warranty.
As for replacing parts I don't see much difficulty as I have a lot of experience in servicing dye/pigment plotters.

SignManiac