• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Banner Hemming

LMSigns24

I am working on a banner that I am printing. The size is 30" x 12'. I am new to printing banners so do I have to hemm? I have a grommet machine to put the grommets in, but do all banners need to be hemmed? What will happen if I do not hemm them? I usually buy the banner already sewn and grommeted. This banner will be outdoors hanging on a wall. Thank You!!

CL Graphics

With a banner that size I would hem with tape and grommet every 3 feet. The hems will stiffen up the banner and help keep it from sagging between the grommets. It also gives it a finished look.

high impact

YES! Hem the banner if it is going outside.

We only will allow a banner to go out the door un-hemmed if it is an indoor banner. The edges tend to roll up a little with some time unless it is installed really tight. I have some indoor banners I printed with no hems I'm looking at right now that have been hanging inside for 9 months and look new yet.

At minimum use the banner tape and then install grommets. We either use the banner tape or get them sewn if that is what the customer wants...for an additional fee of course.

vinyl destination

I give the customer the option from the get-go. As stated from these other guys, I'd recommend always hemming the sides, and give the customer the option for top and bottom. If the customer does not get hemming top/bottom, put banner "swatches" with double sided sticky tape about 2-3 feet apart on the top/bottom, and grommet through these swatches. It doesn't cost you anything more, and you're still giving the customer a good final product.