• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Buying a used plotter ... what should i ask/need to know before

clarkracing

Like the title says im looking at buying a used plotter. The plotter is a Copam 2500. The seller is located on the other side of the country and i want to ask the best and most useful questions before i purchase it. This will be my first plotter purchase too so I have limited knowledge but we all gotta start somewhere. Please help me out with some great questions I can ask. Thanks, Matt.
modify_inline.gif

Techman

Passs on it. Personally, I have never heard of it.
IF you get it then there will be very few who can offer some guidance with it if it is a pain to operate. (which it will be)

Get a local machine with a common name brand.

daveb

General Know-it-all
Read the thread from NCR Grafitti, and then find out how willing he is to stand behind his equipment (her post really ticked me off). If not, go directly to a reputable dealer, new or used. The good people on this site can refer you to a few. You're investing a few thousand, don't get screwed.:banghead:

FatCat

If you spend the time reading all the threads here that reply to this weekly question you'll hear over and over again Graphtec, Summa or Roland.

tomence

If you got $1400 that will get you a brand new with stand graphtec ce5000-60 which is 24" cutter. Since you are in Indy you can drive up to chicago and pick it up but i believe this place has free shipping. Also they include Flexi Starter software for a limited time.
http://www.signoutletstore.com/071021 check them out i got mine for $1400 without the software.

yahhoo