• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Suggestions Clear tint paint over brushed aluminum

Andy D

I have a couple of displays with a brushed aluminum background that needs to be made a darkish
blue. Years ago. the painter at the shop I worked at made a bunch of samples that looked great, different
colors and the brushed effects still clearly showed up, but these were samples he brushed himself.
How hard is it to paint clear tinted paint and get an acceptable finish? I have done a lot of painting with a compressed air sprayer, but I'm not a professional painter and don't have a paint booth.

I tried putting printed clear vinyl over standard brushed aluminum, it shows up but not as much as I would like. I'm going to try and add "brushing" using sandpaper and see how that looks.

Just looking for input.

Andy D

House of Kolor Kandy concentrate if you want to "roll your own" or get one of their premixed colors. Candy colors are transparent and allow you to build the shade you want. Always best to spray a let down panel before you attack the project.
https://www.houseofkolor.com/kolors/
https://www.refinishnetwork.com/2016/12/11/creating-a-tri-coat-let-down-panel/

I was hoping to use something I could buy local, any suggestions?
I will have to paint them outside in the driveway, I'm guessing every little piece of trash will show up
huh?

rjssigns

I was hoping to use something I could buy local, any suggestions?
I will have to paint them outside in the driveway, I'm guessing every little piece of trash will show up
huh?