• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Cold-calling and gaining new clients.

TXGraphix24

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to the forum. Well im a 17 year old HS student, and ive been doing signs, shirts and such for 3 years or so. Since i was 14. Started with a cheap UScutter, and now i have a Roland and auto screen printing setup.

Anyways, business has slowed down a little this month and im trying to find some new ways to gain potential customers. I try to stick to email because its less of a nuisance if people are not interested, but ive been thinking about starting the cold calling to local businesses that i feel are in need of my services.

How do you introduce yourself when they answer the phone? How do you start the conversation? any good tips?

I know it sounds like a dumb question, but are there any tips for me?

Thanks guys, this forum has brought a lot of insight and info for me,

Tyler

Gino

Premium Subscriber
Hi, my name is Tyler and I would like to talk to the person in charge of ordering your textile needs. If he/she's not available, would you please give me their name and a good time to call them ??

Thank you for your time and have a 'Great Day' !!

showcase 66

I am not a big fan of cold calling. I would rather walk in and introduce myself, but some people dont like when someone walks in to tries and get business.
Not sure if your school has Public speaking classes or VICA (Vocational Industrial Clubs of America) Or SkillsUSA. But if they do, I would talk to the teacher involved in the public speaking portion. They can get you some good info on what is appropriate and not appropriate when talking over the phone. I remember they had Cold Calling as part of VICA competitions that I went to when I was in HS.