Welcome To Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals

Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals is the LARGEST online community & discussion forum for professional sign-makers and graphic designers.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Corel to Flexi

Discussion in 'Flexi' started by maddmd, Dec 10, 2006.

1. maddmd

maddmd Member

Mar 14, 2005
    USA
    I have been using Corel for 3 years and now thinking of buying Flexi.
    My question is can you open and use a corel file in Flexi?
    Will it still seperate colors in prodution manager for cuttng or do you have to redo each design?

:thankyou:

Tags:
  2. RiXaX

RiXaX Member

Aug 17, 2004
    Mendocino, CA
    I don't know of anything that will open a Corel file but Corel.

3. maddmd

maddmd Member

Mar 14, 2005
    USA
    What if opened in Corel and saved as an AI file then imported?

4. Mark L

Mark L Member

I have opened corel files in flexi when the customer exporting them to .eps format, but the gradient part came in terrible.
    I'm not sure if you can bring in cdr files without exporting them

5. Flame

Flame Major Contributor

Apr 26, 2006
    Vancouver
    I used to use Corel 8 and those files would go straight into Flexi with minimal problems. But now that I have X3, it won't do it all. I usually save artwork as a CDR, and then a copy as AI (saved in Illustrator 8 format) and that usually opens fine in Flexi.

I HATE Flexi for it's file compatibility. It flat out sucks. It can't even deal with transparent GIFS!!!!

6. bob

bob Major Contributor

Nov 4, 2005
    earth