• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Cutting aluminum on a router

k-ris

Hello I have been using my cnc router for the last 4 months with very little problems except when it comes to aluminum. I've been able to cut through 1/4" but would get chip re-welding and have to stop the tool and restart that's during a 8-pass set-up..

I am mainly cutting less then 6" letters and am pushing to use 3/16" to 1/8" tools and would like to know the rates at which you guys are having success at. Mainly cutting 1/4" Al. I've had huge variances of speeds and feeds and would just like to know what you guys rock. Thank you very much. Recently I stepped down to HSS tools after conistent carbide breakage.

letterman7

Yep, too little info. Carbide will always outcut HSS, and if you're breaking them, you're running too fast. Are you running coolant or just air on the bit? I used to run an old Vytek with a 3hp spindle; .080 aluminum backers I'd run all day at a conservative speed ± 1.25 i.p.s. at 15000 rpm. I'd be dumping coolant on it, too, and rarely had a chip get lodged in the flute. Oh, and I used a single upcut spiral as well. If you use a downcut spiral, it'll load the bit and break it no matter what you're doing.

JimJenson

Grade and hardness mean everything.
There are many variables.

As well as tap magic, plain old Crisco from the grocery store works pretty darn good, and doesnt stink the place up too bad. I hate the smell of tap magic.

k-ris

Looks like I orphaned this post and forgot about it. I am using a spindle w/ onsrud carbide and niagra hss. I've screwed/vacuumed the aluminum down, I have direct air, but have not got any coolant solution otherwise. I even have trouble cutting .040 which is ridiculous.