• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Design Critique

SignStudent

Soo I've just been playing around trying out different techniques to improve my designing skill. This is my first time doing prismatic text (hand-drawn) and I rarely have time to mess around with all the different effects. I already have a logo I'm happy with, this was just for fun/learning.

Do you see anything I could change to improve it i.e. font, color, etc? I'm trying to stop being such an amateur and put out halfway decent looking stuff. My shop windows have been bare for the last 4 months because I can't even figure out what the heck I want to put that will help sales and look professional.

Attachments

• SterlingSignsPrismatic.jpg
    SterlingSignsPrismatic.jpg
    200 KB · Views: 70

SignStudent

Just remembered a problem I ran into: the prismatic effect isn't perfect since I just eyeballed everything.

Someone in an old post on here was talking about how to find the center line of the text using a 1 step blend. Is anyone able to give a good explanation of how this is done for a noob?

I tried it on the letter R and it came out all screwed up, and I have no idea how to go about doing it on a letter with only one path like the S.

Rick

Certified Enneadecagon Designer
I think these exercises are good, but you should study other peoples work....

I don't like too many effects unless the design calls for it. One designer I have always been impressed with is not afraid of effects and color, he balances all of it very well. I think his designs would work in black and white, but he makes them come alive.

It's worth a peek...

http://www.9surf.com/

Dave Drane