• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Digital prints not lasting after 1 year

what the

Owner/op
Help please!! I have been doing signs for 6 years and started to sub-out prints. I have two fleets of trucks out there along with free standing signs that have worn out the same way within a time of 1-2 years ago installed.
I am being ambushed by these customers to fix this and they are unhappy!!!! Here's the killer, I know the supplier is using 3m intermediate/laminate. Now, These prints look like the laminate is taken by gravity (melted/bubbly). The vinyl around on the trucks look like it shrunk 1/4". About a month ago, I purchased my own printer and laminator...now I'm wondering is this the print world, does this happen to all laminate and shrinking vinyl? Staying competitive, I have to keep up on intermediate pricing, so what do I do- does this happen all the time? I thought 3m would not let me down? Please help as I have some big jobs coming!

Fred Weiss

Merchant Member
It is the nature of intermediate calendared films that they have a shorter outdoor life and tend to shrink. If you want your work to last longer, pay the difference for high performance cast films and laminates and charge accordingly.

what the

Owner/op
Intermediate vinyl

It is the nature of intermediate calendared films that they have a shorter outdoor life and tend to shrink. If you want your work to last longer, pay the difference for high performance cast films and laminates and charge accordingly.

Thank you, I just thought that the material would last longer as intermediate calendar vinyl never did this to me..I know print/lam is thicke r and a new monster.

Fred Weiss

Merchant Member