• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

First time poster prepared for the worst.

lukewarmtea

Note: The following few paragraphs are just an introduction of myself, as a new member, and request to the community. Feel free to scroll down to the image below!

First off let me just extend thanks in advance for ANY and all criticism, advice or other that I receive. My formal education and training in sign making or design is literally zero. I request that you don't hold back, let me know where I messed up and if you're feeling generous I would truly appreciate any information or clues as to what principle(s) I violated.

The next point I should make clear is I am not a professional sign maker. I came to signs101.com because my obsession with CNC led me to build a CNC machine and later discover some works by SignManiac, who is truly an inspiration. Now I find myself in a position where a friend wants me to design and cut him a sign, and with no related education or experience I cannot properly judge my own work. I understand your frustration with people like me who come and seek help before reading Mastering Layout by Mike Stevens. I have gone ahead and ordered it but in the meantime I am hoping to get some advice on my early attempts.

Attempt Number 1: Simple

I tried to keep this as simple as possible. Comments?

Attachments

• Kristoff.jpg
    Kristoff.jpg
    51.8 KB · Views: 95
J

john1

I would also highly recommend Logo Design and Logo Design 2 by Dan Antonelli. You can pick them up on Amazon for $25 each and they are tailored to logo design in the sign and vehicle advertising industry

J

john1