Welcome To Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals

Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals is the LARGEST online community & discussion forum for professional sign-makers and graphic designers.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Green member with a printing problem

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by mitch, May 26, 2010.

1. mitch

mitch New Member

May 24, 2010
    Hello All,
    I am a new member and new at this printing game! I have been an electrician for most of my working life and have decided it is time for a new challenge. I have bought myself an eighteen month old Roland SP300v and am starting with simple stuff like printing canvas and posters to begin with as I need to learn to walk before I can run! I have found this forum to be very useful when I have looked at it as a guest and so decided to join and hope that people will take pity on a total novice with lots of enthusiasm. I have been experiencing problems with cutting canvas on my printer. It keeps jamming and I have changed the blade and yet it still happens (although not every time - seems to be when it feels like it) and when I spoke to the company I purchased it from the rep said "maybe it just can't cut canvas"? As I have said as a novice someone could tell me that the machine cuts using invisible scissors and I would believe them! Could someone tell me if this is correct or if I am being fobbed off? Any suggestions gratefully received.

Thanks all

Tags:
  2. Gino

Gino Premium Subscriber

Jun 7, 2006
    PA
    Welcome from PA.............................

.......and NO, he's telling the truth.

3. AKSigns

AKSigns Member

Jun 28, 2007
    I would say NO to cutting canvas!! Its just to thick, stick to cutting vinyl!!

4. bjsputer

bjsputer New Member

May 26, 2010
    Greetings