• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Help Choosing a Cutter

D.R. Smith57

ANYONE - I'm totally new to all of this, but I'm wanting to make mostly window stickers and some T-shirts using a heat press, so I want something like the Roland GX-24 or the Robo 5000-15" or 24" - both have the electronic eye recognition capability. Can anyone recomend one over the other or recomend something else? Thanks for your help.

Kottwitz-Graphics

with ROLAND you can cut from COREL................and no other program needed.

Sorry, OP, I gotta throw my pennies in the bucket...

I have a Summa, and I like it better than Roland. I always had problems getting the Roland to track straight (The guy that owns it could load it straight most of the time). Also had problems with it when it had 50 yard rolls of material, you had to roll the material out, or when it reached the end, would "snag" and you'd end up loosing that run. (The machine was about 7 years old, and was a Camm-1. I don't know if the new ones are any better)

With Summa, it has marks front and back to align the roll. The summa when is loaded will pull out about 24-30 of material, run, and when it hits the end,pauses, pulls out another 24-30 of material, and continues on. They do include a bridge program that sends the job to the machine, so I design in Corel 13, and send the cut file directly to the plotter with the bridge. You can upgrade to Co-Cut Pro for about $400, and that gives you the ablility to add weed lines, outlines, and a couple of other things.

D.R. Smith57

Thanks so much for your feedback. It almost sounds like the old "Ford or Chevy" preference. Do you know of any sites that compare or review various cutters?
--- I also don't mind a used machine as long as it will do the job. ---

S