• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

HELP!!! Cutter seems to have a mind of its own.

raw191

I'll brace myself for the barrage of emails saying that my cutter is crap. I have a Master XY-540P cutter and am running flexi 7.6. Lately, it seems to have a glitch now and then. It will be cutting fine, then head off to the origin, come back to where it was and continue cutting just fine. The cutter has given me no problems for the last year I've had it. I ran it with my desktop, through a serial port, and it workes fine. However, when I switched over to my laptop, it's developed this problem. Is it a cutter driver problem? Baud rate? etc.? I'm just starting out and this cutter is the best I could pay cash for. Any ideas?

raw191

OldPaint

I have a Master XY-540P cutter ..........sorry but thats youre biggest problem...............from my years of hearin complaints on these knockoff cutters....its the COMPUTER BOARDS INSIDE THEM....try to get a replacement.....or you either want to stay in the biz....get a real plotter.

raw191

Why with the laptop and not the desktop though? Even though these cutters get a really bad rap, they're not that bad. It has made me a ton of money. And paid for itself over and over. It only does this really annoying thing with the laptop and usb serial cable but not with the desktop and direct serial port.

Pro Image

Its more that likely the usb to serial software problem.........If don't have one you need to buy a Belkin model.........those cheep ones off of ebay aren't worth it and don't work very well................Ask me how I know.........lol

hjlanda22

I used to have one of these plotter when I firts started I fixed the problem I remember it being in your settings that are on your computer its not the actual plotter.