• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Help with laminate plz!

Tom Printz

It seems here that posters who provide a little bio get better responses to their questions, so here's a brief intro:

32 y/o male in Myrtle Beach. Completely self taught when it comes to the 'sign industry'. I have an Assoc. in Digital Art so my strength is graphic design, but through trial and error I have become much more proficient with the production side of making signs.

My boss owns a helicopter tour business. He was spending a lot money on lettering, signage, etc so about three years ago he bought out a small sign shop with the intention of keeping everything in-house. I responded to an ad for a graphic designer, but was soon thrust into a strange new world and no one to turn to when I had a question (which was every ten seconds or so). I had to figure everything out; Easy stuff like ripping with colorip :banghead:, creating cutpaths, weeding, masking, hinging and other application techniques to really hard stuff like flushing ink lines, changing heads, cap stations and that stupid ribbon thing the print carriage reads and general troubleshooting on a very old, very temperamental SP300. I hated this thing at first but we get along pretty good now. It's been 3 years and I'm still here so I think I've done well. I'm sure this is mostly common knowledge in a professional setting and can be taught in a matter of weeks, but it's like I've been stuck on a deserted island and getting back to civilization depended on my ability to figure out how to do this stuff...