Welcome To Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals

Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals is the LARGEST online community & discussion forum for professional sign-makers and graphic designers.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi from Shreveport, LA

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by wannabe, Apr 24, 2007.

1. wannabe

wannabe Member

Apr 23, 2007
    My name is Charli and I'm standing at the threshold about to buy an operating sign shop. I started painting signs in 1983 and did ok for many years until vinyl and technology left me behind. I took a job at this shop only to find out the owner wants to retire and he has made me an offer. I've had a crash course in signage methods and techniques closer to this century and am loving it! (I do miss quills and the smell of xylol and chalk bags) However, I would love to know more about vinyl that can be printed and what equipment to begin with. Also, someone tell me about Lexan and why the guy I work with has me rub it with alcohol right after peeling the protective covering off and then immediately sticking it with vinyl. I'm prolly gonna be asking lots of questions here, I LOVE this sight.

Tags:
  2. gvgraphics

gvgraphics Very Active Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Welcome

3. mladams7259

mladams7259 Very Active Member

Sep 7, 2006
    Welcome Aboard!

4. Techman

Techman Major Contributor

Jun 24, 2003
    michigan
    welcome.. good luck in ye rnew bizz

For the alcohol. Some feel it is necessary to clean the surfaces to get any dirt off to make sure the vinyl sticks.

Personally I have never cleaned a signle sheet of plastic after peeling the outer layer. And, I have never had a challange with vinyl not sticking. Plus I personally worked with more than a few others who dont even have alcohol in their shops and never had sticky problems either.