• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

In need of some beginner tips

awstorer

Hello everyone, I'm a Graphic Design student in my final year and I'm trying to get more involved in hand lettering etc.
The main avenue I've been interested in is traditional sign painting. For christmas my girlfriend got me some One Shot and some Kafka brushes, but there are some technique things that I am wondering about before painting my first sign.

It's pretty obvious to me that I don't just dip a brush in some paint/enamel and go for gold. Obviously thinning the paint is a good start, but I am at a little bit of a loss for how to go about this. I bought some Low Odour Turpentine and some Wax and Grease remover for prepping. From what I have figured so far is that I should use the wax and grease remover to prep a surface with a rag, and then use the turps to thin.

Am I right to assume for thinning, that I just paulette the brush in the turps once or twice then load it with paint the same way?
I know enough to use a cup/tray for the paint outside of the tins, as to not taint my entire paint supply.

I was also wondering about cleaning and maintaining my brushes, obviously I need to give them a thorough wash with water and turps, but do I also need some kind of brush oil, or oil in general?

Please note I am also from Australia so some names etc/availability could be a bit different.
Sorry if this is in the wrong section. the newbie section had a heap of vinyl cutting stuff so I avoided it. thanks in advance.

J Hill Designs

I learned to palette the brush with paint, and run through turps to get it flowing smooth...but I am way way below beginner level

threeputt