• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Installing your own heads?

MikePro

Anyone out there have any tips for a first-timer looking into possibly installing his own print heads? A technical manual is one thing I can handle working from, but mainly looking for personal experience stories/reminders of things I should look out for.

artbot

i'm a newbie that recently had to change a jv3 head (160sp). the back hex screw is pretty hard to access. next time i do it. i'm going to buy a longer allen wrench and put a slight bend at the end. also, it's really tight. take off all the ribbons and all the dampers. i recently put super long mutoh ribbons on my machine and it really opened up a lot of finger room. also, new dampers can sometimes fit much much tighter than older ones or different manufactures. put the damper on the head on and off a couple of times before it's installed to make sure it's going to go on. don't twist it on. i broke off an adapter nozzle, ended up with white ink leaking everywhere and fried a head that way. and lastly, go to the hardware store and buy an led snake light. it has a tiny light at the end of about a 1/4" cable. you can clamp it to the cover and point the light very accurately at the place that you are working. i also have installed LED lights inside of my printer housing and have a special spot light in the ceiling pointed directly at the park point of the head carriage. i like a lot of light to see what's going on. after you install lights inside your machine you can't stand printing with them off. too shadowy.

MikePro

Mimaki JV3-160SP.