• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Suggestions Laser Options

bigben

So I start for a laser. I'm looking for a machine that would accommodate a 48in sheet with doors on the front and back. I will mostly use it to cut 3/8in and 1/2in acrylic, maybe 3/4in sometime. I will also do all kind of engraving.

So that been said, where do I start. I've looked for the trotec, but I'm sure there is more options up there.

Thanks.

CanuckSigns

Trotec, Universal and Epilog are the 3 big players. There are also chinese made lasers but i have no experience with them.

CanuckSigns

not a huge amount. Pick whatever one has the closest service centre to you. I know Trotec and Epilog both have branches in Quebec.

We have only ever used Trotec's as i understand it they are regarded as the best of the best.

rossmosh

not a huge amount. Pick whatever one has the closest service centre to you. I know Trotec and Epilog both have branches in Quebec.

We have only ever used Trotec's as i understand it they are regarded as the best of the best.

This is not true. There is a signifcant difference between the manufacturers. Speed, quality, price, table size, and print driver all can be significantly different.

As for the original question: Kern and Vytek are two companies that specialize in larger lasers. If cutting is your priority, it's hard to beat what the Chinese are offering. For $25k you can get a 4x8 machine with 150w+.

Gene@mpls

Ray at Rabbit is good too. The Chicom lasers are good for cutting, but slower at engraving than the big $$$ lasers. Gene

GaSouthpaw

Profane and profane accessories.
I have a thunderlaser and I love it, very easy to use and so far has been very reliable and accurate.