• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Lord Adhesive failure, any advice?

jtiii

I paid good money for you to read this!
I was gluing 2" aluminum angle to acm to make returns. Used Lord's 406/19 (not expired). Lightly scuffed the angle and wiped it with ispropyl. Same for the acm. Squeezed out a mixing nozzle's worth first to ensure full mix. Clamped for 24 hours. Today I went to move the sign and the pieces snapped off with not much force. It mostly but not exclusively failed on the angle side. The adhesive is cured.
I've used Lord's a few times before without issue but this is my first time making returns and my first time experiencing failure. Can anyone tell me what I did wrong? As always, the client wanted this up yesterday :p
ScreenShot1.png
ScreenShot.png
ScreenShot2.png

netsol

Jtiii
Glues fail in one of two ways, adhesion (the ability to stick to something else) & cohesion (the ability to stick to itself). Yours seems to have failed both ways, leading me to think either it was expired, or, perhaps got contaminated by a coating on one of both surfaces you were trying to glue, which did not come off completely when you wiped down with alcohol?

jtiii

Jtiii
Glues fail in one of two ways, adhesion (the ability to stick to something else) & cohesion (the ability to stick to itself). Yours seems to have failed both ways, leading me to think either it was expired, or, perhaps got contaminated by a coating on one of both surfaces you were trying to glue, which did not come off completely when you wiped down with alcohol?