• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Master Cutter and then......

So I have a master cutter and yes I agree that it is a giant piece of crap. I can’t cut jack when the wind blows and everyone at Desay is telling me this is because of static electricity. Part of me is saying that the reason they are telling me its static is because how am I to tell them that its not static? So I drove a 10 foot long copper rod into the ground and ran a wire from that to the side of my machine. Same thing happens, display goes blank half way into a cut and panel is unresponsive and then it starts cutting all the way down past the paper and wipes everything out. Machine worked fine yesterday but not today when I need it.

So my question is does anyone know how I could either measure or eliminate static electricity in my office? I now have the workload and would love to buy a better cutter but I am afraid that if I have a problem because of static electricity that if I were to get a better cutter I might still have issues.

Has anyone ever had a static related issue with a Roland or Graphtec cutter?

B Snyder

I have not had this problem with a Roland or Graphtec plotter.
I have lost data through the cable that connects my Gerber Edge to the computer and static electricity was the problem.

Can you get a reading of the room's humidity? Just by keeping the room less dry in the winter I've eliminated all problems.

totalimage

Kinda wierd..We accually have a Master plotter and even though it is cheap it has paid for itself over 10 times....I wouldnt mind buying another one if the price is right...

signmeup