• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Micro Business Looking to Expand into Print

LeLuni

Hello,

I have a small side business making laser cut wooden children’s clocks here: www.LeLuni.com.

I would like to expand my offerings into complementary children’s room wall stickers and removable ‘wallpaper’ (large scale print graphics that are peal-and-stick onto walls).

My inspiration for this new product line idea can be found here: http://www.thewallstickercompany.com.au/ (from their video it looks like they use a 64” Roland printer/cutter)

(((BTW, my day job is in the tradeshow exhibit industry, so I have accumulated a good amount of large format graphic print knowledge - though we outsource the actual printing to local vendors. I have a very good understanding of the common graphic software programs (adobe and corel) as well as a reasonable knowledge of print media/substrates. )))

I currently have about $8,000 from my side business, and the ongoing profits net me about $1,000 a month.

I’d appreciate everyone’s opinion on the following questions:

1. What, in your opinion, would be the necessary (bare minimum) equipment to begin this exact new product line?
Assume the designs would need to be printed and not just cut solid vinyl.

2. On a budget (i.e. purchasing only used equipment), what would you anticipate startup costs to be, including media?

3. Can you point me in the right direction as far as the best type of print media for this application?
I believe the site above mentions their ‘fabric’ style peel and stick graphics. In my day job we have noticed vast difference in the types and textures of vinyl that different shops use, and I’m unfamiliar with the specific brand names that have crossed my desk.