• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Question New and looking for advice

RatherDashing

I'm a high school teacher that is looking to expand while I have a budget to do so. What I'd like to be able to do is small run full color shirts, full color banners every now and then, stickers/ widow clings/ magnets, canvas prints and posters. Basically a little of every thing. I currently have a Roland GX-24 and have used it a ton, but want to add color printing.

The problem: it's school, and I won't be using the machine daily (maybe not even every week) and then not at all during 2 weeks of winter break, or two months over the summer. I know this will be a problem with most printers. What can I do to mitigate that problem?

Machine recommendations? I was looking at getting an HP 115 latex printer, as I have a colleague with one. I was also looking at a Roland versaprint bn-20 for smaller jobs. The hp is huge, and won't be in my room while not in use.

I would like all the advice and recommendations you can throw at me. Tell me I'm crazy and it won't work, and send me on the right path.

papabud

Lone Wolf
well your first concern is letting the machine sit idle.
you would be surprised how many little jobs you find to run once you have the machine.
if you bought your own material would they let you run personal jobs. making goofy stickers for friends is a fun little thing to do.
ok but with that out of the way. most of the machines are designed to keep ink flowing through the head and into a waste container when the machine is idle.
this can consume a lot of ink if left just sitting. if you unplug it you will destroy your machine.
the other option is you can flush ink out of the machine for summer break and then pump fresh new ink in when you need the machine.