• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Oh Canada!

Bigdee

:Canada 2:

Hi everyone! I guess it's about time I introduced myself. My name is Derek and I've been creeping this site for some time now. It was just recently that I decided to create an account.

I'm a vehicle wrap installer for a body shop planning to take the leap on my own very soon. Have been taking night school in college to learn illustrator and intend to get into the design aspect as well. I know that design and print will have a huge learning curve and I welcome it!

Basically, vehicle wrapping kind of fell into my lap. The shop asked me if I would want to take it on since they occasionally have customers who request vinyl paint conversions instead of actual paint. Needless to say, I took on the responsibility and have loved it ever since. That is why I'm taking the next step and going off on my own which the shop is fully aware off. :rock-n-roll:

I do expect alot of flak from everyone for jumping in head first but I do honestly learn very quickly and do tons of research.

I'll leave it at that for now before I bore you all to death....let 'er rip!!! :thumb:

Scott Reynolds

Ive seen the "Christmas in Canada" episode from South Park ... Canada is scary! Square tires on the cars and whatnot...

Anyway, Welcome from the land of round wheels!! :rock-n-roll:

anotherdog

Welcome from the frozen north!

Sounds like you are doing things right.
Do you have customers/market?
Will your old shop continue to use your services?
Will you need to aquire fixed overhead like machinery/printers and premises or will you just install at other locations?

Basically have you created a plan? Every employee knows how to do it, the much harder parts are how to turn it into a business and find the market.