Welcome To Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals

Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals is the LARGEST online community & discussion forum for professional sign-makers and graphic designers.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Onyx and summa questions

Discussion in 'Summa' started by iPrintStuff, Jul 9, 2019.

1. iPrintStuff

iPrintStuff Prints stuff

Sep 3, 2018
    United Kingdom
    So I’m still pretty new to summa/onyx/barcode server but recently I’ve had a few thoughts/questions I couldn’t figure out by just scanning around the menus.

We have a summa S class.

Firstly, when loading rolls of vinyl with the barcodes etc. The summa only ever seems to cut when I put a “9” code in, and not a “6”. How do I solve that? It worked initially but just randomly stopped working recently.

Secondly, with the rolls loaded, it cuts the whole load into the basket. In onyx cut server I’ve changed the default to “cut sheet” (or something similar, not at the machine just now) but basically I just need the summa to cut between each job, is this possible/how do I do it?

Thanks for any help!

Tags:
  2. FrankW

FrankW Very Active Member

Oct 19, 2008
    Germany
    Why do you put a code in? The summa cutter should read the barcode itself and load the appropriate file. 6 or 9 is the number depending of the orientation of the cut job. What version of onyx do you use?

3. iPrintStuff

iPrintStuff Prints stuff

Sep 3, 2018
    United Kingdom
    We’re running 18.5. As far as the barcodes go, that’s what we do, I put it in the summa, get it to find the barcode then it automatically cuts.

Now for the catch, one end of the sheet gets a 6 code, and one the 9 (so the summa knows which end is which). For us, the summa only cuts it when it’s the 9 end. That’s what’s so confusing.