• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Oracal 651 problems

Unitedhbn

I have a complaint regarding Oracal 651. I've been using this media for 3 years now and just recently I noticed that something has changed. The media doesn't seem to be as strong and durable anymore. It creases really easy and it can barely support it's own weight without damaging itself. What I mean is the pre-feed or slack that you feed out for the media when you attempt to plot large jobs. No matter what I do the media cannot handle the weight of itself hanging out the back of the machine. The weight of itself causes stress marks on the media starting from the middle then out to the sides the longer it sits in that position. These stress marks later end up ruining the next cut because the stress marks prevent the media from feeding properly. They also cause the media to crease and fold in the wrong areas and ruin any cut I attempt to run on this part of the media.

All the older rolls of Oracle 651 that I purchased a few years ago do not have this feeding problem. These rolls have been sitting in my office for 2 years. It's not my environment either. I have a Graphtec FC8000-130 which does a great job of feeding media properly as long as it's not Oracel 651. I tried running it on my Roland VS640 and the problem is even worse only because Roland doesn't have the best feeding set-up on that particular model.

Is anyone else experiencing this??

Sincerely,
Shane

amw

Longtime Members