• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Paint Failure

Moosehead Signs

Finely Crafted Signs & Lettering
Has anyone had issues with Jay Cooks All Purpose Primer. Been in the sign business since 1978 and you'd think I was a beginner from these results. I have been using the same paint system for almost 15 years & never had a problem. Just cannot figure it. I haven't changed anything in my production...is there a problem with Cookes Primer, I notice he isn't in business anymore or I cannot locate him. I have been using Behr Paints for 20 years

Thank you, Tom
open

open
Paint Failure - Google Drive
open

open

open

open

open

Billct2

First of all, beautiful work, and obviously you have a lot of experience applying paint that has to stick from sub zero to 100 degrees and humid so I doubt you made any errors. I haven't used Jays stuff in quite a while, but I have had experience with various products formulas changing without me knowing about it, which can lead to failures. There's also the possibility you got a bad batch, maybe it was in unheated storage and froze? Does the failure look like the primer wasn't dry (even it it was)?

Moosehead Signs

First of all, beautiful work, and obviously you have a lot of experience applying paint that has to stick from sub zero to 100 degrees and humid so I doubt you made any errors. I haven't used Jays stuff in quite a while, but I have had experience with various products formulas changing without me knowing about it, which can lead to failures. There's also the possibility you got a bad batch, maybe it was in unheated storage and froze? Does the failure look like the primer wasn't dry (even it it was)?