• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Printable translucent

mudmedia

Any recommendations on a good printable translucent vinyl for a backlit sign?

I am looking at either the Oracal 3850 or the Avery MPI 2050. Any good or bad on either of em?

I normally stick to Oracal but the Avery is a bit cheaper they both are calandered only thing I notice is the mil thickness.

Any experienced printers with either of these that can provide info on them would be great!

Letterbox Mike

I'm partial to the Avery, as much as I'm not a big Avery fan, it takes more ink than the Oracal when double-printing it and it lights cleaner and whiter. I've found the Oracal looks a little muddy and yellowish compared to the Avery. I've been using the Avery for about 5 years and haven't had any issues with it whatsoever.

mudmedia

Good to know thank you. I have not used many Avery products but there isn't a wide variety for translucent that is affordable.

Does Avery make a cast translucent or should I be ok with calandered for this small sign? I do not like a large amount of shrinkage that is what I am worried about.

Letterbox Mike

The 2050 is calendered and I think it's rate for 5 years. The only cast printable that I'm aware of is 3M and it's significantly more expensive, and it's still rated for 5 years, so I'd just make sure your customer has realistic lifespan expectations. I've never had it shrink any appreciable amount. Often times we layer it up with clear vinyl as well for extra ink density and that's also never caused an issue. Like I said, just don't tell your customer it'll last forever and you'll be golden.

Letterbox Mike

Comparing the 2 side by side the Avery does look much "whiter".