• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

printing banners with an sp-300

frmdstryr

Someone wants me to print a banner 12' by 24" banner. They want it to be charcoal gray (20c 0m 0y 10k) and the text will be light sky blue (0c 0m 0y 80k). Is it possible to do this by getting a charcoal grey banner? As far as I know versacamm's dont print white, so how can this be done (printing a lighter color than the substrate)? Do i need to get a white banner and just print it grey? If so that's going to use a ton of ink.... not?

Thanks!

amw

Longtime Members
Just print the gray ...
or get a gray banner and a cut out blue vinyl (text) to put on the banner.

Marsha

frmdstryr

Okay, thanks. I've never done a banner before. Do you recommend getting a banner with grommets? It's for outdoor use like once a year. Single sided. Should i get a roll or a pre cut banner?

chopper

you have two choices.....
1... buy a banner that is the gray color you desire, cut letters from sky blue vinyl and apply the letters to the banner.

2... use a printable banner material, print the gray background and the sky blue letters on said banner, apply grommets etc if desired...

//chopper

as chopper says.. good advice.
if you have never done banners before i'm guessing you don't really know whats involved?? if you go the printed route then you will need to hem the banner using either banner tape or stitching(you can use a heat app too). you will also need to grommet the banner every 2 ft or so. to do this you need the right tool for grommeting. printing it is the easy part!
second choice is buying a pre hemmed and grommeted banner in the color choice you want and applying the sky blue material over that. just make sure you get the right weight for out door use.

tomence