• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

School Me: 1Shot

mesheau

Ladies, Gents,

Got a few sign painting projects coming up and I wanted to pick the brains of the mighty old sign painters here on the interwebs. I'm new to traditional sign making as you can see by my few posts, anyway I have some general questions with regards to 1shot and painting.

1) Background Paint:
What type of background paint should I be using so it won't interfere with the lettering enamel. If I'm simply staining wood, what type of stain would be appropriate to 1shot over.

2)Clear Coats:
Should I clear coat over the 1shot for longevity, if so what kind?

That's all I can think of, might post up more questions as I can think of them

Thanks

visual800

if you are alrady mentioning staining the background I will assume you are doing a dimentional sign. First off let me say ONE SHOT SUCKS, and I would suggest going with latex or ronans aquacote, I dont use this Ronans but others on here like it. I stick with regular benjamin Moore. I know others on here still use One Shot religiously and that is their preference. I do know it can be cleared over but if you are staning the background on sign I would not suggest clearing over that.

all of our clears are done with high solid urethanes (car paint) DO NOT use off the shelf shellacs as they tend to not last outside

mesheau

No dimensional stuff here. I was simply thinking of staining the wood and then lettering over top of the stain with enamel, 1shot or Ronin.

I've been told 1Shot now stinks quite a bit more then they use to after being bought out by Pittsburg Paints. Alot of people are switching to Ronin. I haven't painted enough to really tell the difference.

OldPaint

painting background: