Welcome To Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals

Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals is the LARGEST online community & discussion forum for professional sign-makers and graphic designers.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Self-taught or tutored in PhotoShop?

Discussion in 'Adobe' started by threeputt, Nov 21, 2006.

1. threeputt

threeputt Very Active Member

Mar 10, 2006
    washington state
    Was wondering how many designers here have had instruction in PhotoShop? I'm learning it by self-teaching method and it's a slow go.

Old dog, new tricks thing. Can do the basics, apply bevels/effects to letters, play with photos and stuff, but this is a very, very complex program, isn't it?

Your thoughts? (advice)

Tags:
  2. Derf

Derf Very Active Member

I learned a lot by my self however once I took my first class a whole new world opened up to me!

I took this guys class ----. http://www.bertmonroy.com/index.htm for two years at MAC world in SF, CA Best money I ever spent!

3. Techman

Techman Major Contributor

Jun 24, 2003
    michigan
    get all the psd tutorial books u can find.

the one i liked the best because it didnt skip any steps is
    Peachpit.Press The Photoshop Channels Book
    really nice..

4. WVB

WVB Very Active Member

Feb 25, 2005
    96-98 I took Commercial Art in college. Some was taught in college but more so a lot was self taught on my own.

I agree with Derf however, Burt Monroy is an incredible person with Photoshop. He use to be on a show called The Screen Savers on TechTV. Now its some G4 channel crap that has a lot to do with everything but tech...

5. ChiknNutz

ChiknNutz Major Contributor

Apr 18, 2003
    All self-taught, and I'm barely eating pureed peas...if ya know what I mean! I'd like to get some formal training to try and shorten the learning curve here.

6. TresL

TresL Very Active Member

Oct 24, 2005