• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help set cut start location

Geoff

Hi

I'm a newbie to cutters. I am considering buying a 9000 cutter.

All my cuts will be rectangles only. Can anyone tell me if I will have the ability to determine the corner at which the knife starts?

I need to be able to tell it which corner to start from... to always start the cut from the second pair of corners, so it scrolls past the 1st 2 corners and start from one of the 2nd 2 corners.

For example, if A,B,C & D are the four corners...

A---------B
| ~ ~ ~ ~ |
| ~ ~ ~ ~ |
C---------D

I need the knife to start at B, then cut in this order: B > D > C > A > B

Is this possible?

FWIW, I plan to use Onyx when support arrives for the 9000

Cheers
Geoff

SignMeUpGraphics

Super Active Member
I think if you draw the box using nodes rather than a rectangle tool, it will cut in order of being drawn. Not 100% on this though, as the cutting software can "optimize" the paths for faster cut times.

unclebun

You are a newbie to cutters. Why do you think it will be important to command the cutter which vector to start from when it cuts a square?

Every curve has a vector which is the start/end vector. You can set which vector is the start vector in your sign software when creating the file. You can also control curve direction in the sign software. These are not controls of the cutter itself, but the software creating the file.

As far as I know Onyx's cutting module has no control for setting the start point for a curve.

jimmmi

But I didn't understand the reason of cutting with specific direction. Clockwise either counterclockwise. Can you please explain?

signage