• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Shop Rate

Locals Find!

Would like to say thank you to some of the Senior sign people on here.

In all the shops I worked in a Shop Rate was never discussed. We had some formulas for pricing but a shop rate was never discussed.

I hadn't actually sat down and calculated one for our business. While we have been surviving and growing. I had never realized we were losing money here and there by not having a shop rate till recently.

So I wanted to give you guys a Sincere Thank You. :U Rock:

Pat Whatley

Completely changed my perspective of this business when I did a really complete job cost analysis and realized that the "standard" $60 an hour shop rate wasn't gonna work.

Gino

Premium Subscriber
While shop rate usually refers to a shop producing goods all day long…. how does that fit into your needs being a broker ??

Do you have a store front…… a fabrication facility…. a staff or full-time employee……. shop trucks or business license….. anything other than a software package and a die-cutting machine ?? I know many others here don’t have these thing, but they haven’t made the statements that they are primarily ‘brokers’ either.

I could be wrong, but if you were to guess, how much of your stuff is third party…. Honestly ??

I’ve always had a bad taste in my mouth for someone who takes a wholesale item for the vast majority of their work and passes it off as made–in-house and then competes with other local shops on just about everything. There are a few guys here locally that did that and only one has remained in business, but just barely. Of course, many people today are only barely in business.