• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Solvent ss2 inks used in home?

bwrapped

Hi all. I've been given the oprotunity to bring to my home a jv3-160sp. This machine is clogged and I have no knowledge of the print side of vinyl. Slowly I am going to hopefully bring this monster to life and be able to print some media! I'm excited. The problem is my garage is not temp controlled. I was wondering if this machine in my house with an exhaust running out a window would be enough ventilation to not damage my families health? I know keeping the printer and trying to print in a garage will just give me problems. Thanks to all.

Letterbox Mike

I wouldn't do this.

A. If the heads are clogged, you're looking at significantly more money to get it running that the machine is worth. Easily $4000-$5000 in parts alone for new heads, dampers, pump, ink lines, etc.. Plus labor if you aren't mechanically inclined enough to install and calibrate yourself.

B. A non-climate controlled environment is going to cause a lot of problems.

C. Putting it in a spare bedroom with a window fan is going to give your dog cancer. If you invested several thousand dollars in a high-end air scrubber meant for solvent printing, you're still risking your family's health. Solvet inks are no joke, and Mimaki SS2 inks are particularly unpleasant in small environments.