• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help Starting new creative adventure (project)

AkKaren

Hi, I’m an establish artist (sculptural/painting/mix media) looking to try my hand at personalizing my vehicle with my own work. After doing some homework, I’ve decided I would like to hand paint my design on vinyl as opposed to directly on the vehicle itself. I intend to use One Shot paint, but would like some guidance on selecting the appropriate vinyl. My research suggests Oracal ? Would it be easier to apply the cut out shape of the design to the vehicle and THEN paint it? Or paint the design, cut it out (weed?) and apply when cured? ( the design will be large...) Does it matter what color the vinyl is to start with? (vehicle is dark maroon, design will be lighter, brighter colors)
I do appreciate any all suggestions, as well as your time in providing them.

papabud

Lone Wolf
it all boils down to what you want the finished look to be.
do you have a way of putting your art in a digital format and having a shop print it for you.
which will hold up better and look cleaner than anything else

AkKaren

it all boils down to what you want the finished look to be.
do you have a way of putting your art in a digital format and having a shop print it for you.
which will hold up better and look cleaner than anything else
I do want a “hand painted” look. I have gotten an estimate for a professionally made decal, via computer/scanner to the tune of $1450. I’m all for supporting local businesses... but I AM ALSO a local business. As an artist, I want an original work on my truck. I expect the piece to last 3 -4 years.

papabud

Lone Wolf