• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Thermal Prints and Lamination - Help?

njsigns

I have a Roland PC-12 and have a job that would be ideal to finally get some use out of it. The PC-12 is a thermal print and cut system - for those not in the know.

I have a question regarding the lamination of thermal prints with liquid laminate. I plan on using Clear Shield to laminate. My question is do I cut and weed the print before applying laminate? I can envision the liquid laminate going beyond the edges of the cut print and causing problems.

Do I print, laminate, then back in the machine to cut? This method frightens me - seriously, as I've never done it before and I can just imagine the print not being cut right! Not sure how well the PC-12 works with registration marks. At the cost per sq. ft. printing with this machine, I can't afford to screw it up too many times.

If I were using sheet laminate I would print, laminate, then cut, but the liquid laminate has me stumped. The only reason I am using Clear Shield is because I have it, and that's only because I was "sold" on the liquid for thermal prints - not sure if it's the best method, but what it's I have on hand.

I don't do enough print and cut to justify buying roll laminate, which is probably a better choice. These prints are expensive and are limited in size without overlapping so I end up doing layered vinyl more often than not.

The final product will be handed off to the customer for a self install (3 hours away), so how about application tape? How does application tape "react" to the liquid laminate?

I would do all layered vinyl, but with 8 colors, I feel this is my best bet.

Welcoming any advice/help with this one...

Thanks
Gene

iSign