• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Trying to learn correctly before I run into problems!

Signmaker1234

I am still relatively new to large format printing, so any help would be greatly appreciated! First question is would there be any issues with printing with registration marks, 2 coats of clear shield liquid laminate, and then placing back in the printer/cutter to cut? I know this is done with film laminate and have done it, but is it ok with liquid laminate? I have done print and cut then liquid laminate and weed before it dried completely, but this option only allows for one coat of liquid laminate.

My second question is about scale and resolution. Is it ok to design at a smaller scale (1/10) for example then scale it up in the rip? I am using versaworks. I know illustrator has artboard size limits.

I need info on resolution also (like importing raster images into illustrator for printing , so any info on that would help.

Thanks in advance!

C

ColoPrinthead

You can cut after your liquid lam is dry, though my opinion of liquid lam is low. Yes you can design in a scale, you will have to do the math on your image resolution properly though. Typically 200 is enough resolution but you can get away with less often.

Signmaker1234

You can cut after your liquid lam is dry, though my opinion of liquid lam is low. Yes you can design in a scale, you will have to do the math on your image resolution properly though. Typically 200 is enough resolution but you can get away with less often.

Thank you!

Solventinkjet

DIY Printer Fixing Guide
The clear coat then cut work flow you described will work fine.