• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

vinyl for outdoor use

IGD

newbie here, was wondering if oracle 651 is sufficient enough to use on vehicle lettering, magnets, ect?

IGD

thanks for the fast reply, reason im asking is that im just starting out and i have about 12 rolls i dont want to waist...

bob

It's better to have two hands than one glove.
Some years back there was far more difference between calendared and cast vinyl. Today not so much.

Cast is inherently more friendly to curves but for a simple curved door or window, they're pretty much functionally the same. I'm sure that this will bring cries of outraged protest from the teeming masses but for flat to simple curves the only real difference is the 651 is rated for 6 years, the 751 for 8 [i think], and I have no idea what 951 might be rated. 6 years is merely a rating, how long it actually lasts, from a few years to a really long time depends of a lot of things, not just the manufacturer's rating.

IGD

to me it seems like a pretty good vinyl, that gives me a little more confidence in atleast using these rolls up, maybe my next order im gonna go up to cast just for piece of mind, the input was very much appreciated

Oracal is great vinyl. This is the way I look at it. We use 651 for flat smooth surfaces or simple curves but primarily for window graphics. It can be used for vehicle graphics on the same type of surfaces but is and always will be second to cast. We typically use 651 for production of car magnets, as well as large runs of die cut window decals. We use it for signage on 5 year or less substrates such as painted MDO or overlayed plywood.