• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Wedding seating chart

Pideas

I've been getting some requests for wedding seating charts with cut vinyl lettering on clear acrylic. I've never done this type of job before. Does anyone do this and how time consuming is it? What is the best white vinyl to use for this type of job?

I have a Summa and would use that for the cutting. Just not sure if any vinyl would work or if there's an easy weeding type vinyl that might work better for this type of signage.

Here's an example of this type of signage: https://www.jennandjulesdesign.com/listing/536533881/laser-cut-etched-acrylic-seating

Gino

Premium Subscriber
Why would someone want it made of cheap-a$$ gold vinyl or whatnot ?? Those are etched and become a kinda keepsake of the day. Ya either need to etch them or some kinda embossed ink from a flatbed.

White Haus

Not a Newbie
Yeah like Charlie said, we'd print white ink on clear acrylic on our flatbed. I wouldn't touch that with cut vinyl! (You may have more patience than me though)

Andy D

I agree with everyone else, no way I would cut and weed that...But if I had to, I would:
1. place cut lines between all of the lines of text
2 pick/weed out the center of the letters only, leaving the vinyl around the letters.
3. apply high tack transfer tape tape and mount the vinyl to the acrylic.
4. weed the vinyl around the lettering from the substrate. (otherwise you will lose half of that fine script.)
5. charge for 4-5 hours of weeding

I don't weed any small copy anymore but I think Oracal 651 used to be my go-to for cut vinyl, but double check that.

Pideas

Yeah like Charlie said, we'd print white ink on clear acrylic on our flatbed. I wouldn't touch that with cut vinyl! (You may have more patience than me though)