Welcome To Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals

Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals is the LARGEST online community & discussion forum for professional sign-makers and graphic designers.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wood signage

Discussion in 'General Signmaking Topics' started by Pideas, Apr 10, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Pideas

Pideas Member

Sep 7, 2015
    Alexandria, Virginia
    I'm new to producing wood signage. I have a job to print a 4x8ft wood sign for a real estate client. I currently use 1/2" painted one side MDO (RTG). I print onto 3M IJ35C and mount to the wood.

I'm wondering if I'm using the correct wood material. I can choose from MDO (unpainted/unprimed), MDO primed, or MDO painted one side/two side. Since I'm mounting vinyl to the wood, is there one preferred material that I should use?

Also, if i use the MDO painted one side material, should I be mounting to the painted side or the unpainted side?

Tags:
  2. Billct2

Billct2 Major Contributor

Mar 12, 2005
    New England
    Are you having issues with the way you are doing it? We prefer composite materials.

• Agree Agree x 2
  3. Johnny Best

Johnny Best Very Active Member

Dec 9, 2015
    buffalo ny
    Mount to painted side but like above I do not use MDO anymore and stick with ACM for all real estate work.

• Agree Agree x 2
  4. Pideas

Pideas Member

Sep 7, 2015
    Alexandria, Virginia
    We haven't had any issues when mounting to the unpainted side of the MDO board. Since one side is painted and the other has the vinyl, we figure it would last longer in the elements.

We have used ACM as well but we get a lot more request for the MDO/wood. We normally use what the client prefers. I didn't realize folks were using more ACM these days over MDO for this type of signage.

5. Johnny Best

Johnny Best Very Active Member

Dec 9, 2015
    buffalo ny